Talking About Beauty: Ayurveda & Exercise

I found out from my ayurveda therapist that my constitution shouldn’t do strenuous exercises. It just overheats my body. I never did finish they story about my experience with ht yoga. around day 45 of my 60 day challenge i was exhausted physically and had some weird ridge growing in my abdomen.

Boy did I freak out. I was sure it was something awful and I was going to die. The therapist told me it was just my body reacting to what it did not like. The heat, the strain,  he sweat. I never did like sweat and heat and strain but thought I had to endure because well I heard somewhere thats how thing were done.

“No” my therapist told me. “Your constitution needs calm stuff like yoga and walks outdoors.”

No wonder i could never stick to one of those hectic gym schedules. Or a running routine. So now i do 30mins of yoga and 30 mins walk or dance daily. I’m working up to an hour each.

The nearest gym is a 25 mins drive away through evening rush hour traffic. It’s not time or cost effective. So I started my at home yoga practice really small. I went through up and downs. Some mornings I was all gung ho about it and some mornings it just wasn’t a priority and I skipped yoga. I pushed through those. I didn’t let it stop me altogether. Gradually it became part of my daily routine and I noticed that it did help me function better too. I think I’m addicted to yoga now. But as addictions go that ain’t so bad. I’m an addictive personality.

I also go dancing once a week. I’ve started salsa lessons. Love it. Love the music. And I am overcoming my biggest challenge in salsa. Letting the man lead. read about it here. And let the music lead. I love the sexual energy in Latina dance. Our Igbo dances are less about sex and more about energy and acrobatics. Or seduction. Anyway I figure that should keep ticking along just fine. I do not want to be jumping upandan, jiggling, sweating and getting hot.

What Do You Think?

